Now it looks like the Illinois State Police will nail the person who moves for a $75 fee to give him a new license with his new address on it.
In 430 ILCS 66, Section 55, it reads:
"(a) A licensee shall notify the Department within 30 days of moving or changing residence or any change of name. The licensee shall submit:
(1) a notarized statement that the licensee has changed his or her residence or his or her name, including the prior and current address or name and the date the applicant moved or changed his or her name; and
(2) the requisite fee."
The next Section (60(d)) states the fee will be $75.00
He has 30 days to change his address, or he risks a $150 fine!
Outrageous! This is just one more way that Illinois legislators are sticking it to those who think Illinois is a pretty dangerous place to leave your home. Don't think so? Check out the headlines every day at www.chicagotribune.com